Stephanie H

Name: Stephanie Henderson




Born and raised in Vancouver Stephanie moved to Kelowna in the summer of 2016 along with her husband and 2 children. From a young age, she was always involved with sports like gymnastics, swimming, skating, and skiing. At the age of 10, she joined the Cindy Yang Dance Academy, which is a Chinese ethnic dance school in Vancouver. She was with them until the age of 25! Her athleticism has definitely grown over the years, especially when she started Zumba!


  1. What made you get into Zumba?


I took my first Zumba class in January 2015 and instantly loved it! My first thought at the end of the class was why didn’t I try this sooner?!? A good friend suggested that I teach Zumba in Kelowna once we moved. Shortly after the move, I found an amazing, energetic, awesome instructor named Roxana!!! I mentioned to her that I was thinking about becoming an instructor, and she was extremely supportive and mentored me along the way. I still attend her classes along with teaching my own! My classes are full of energy and personality! I love being able to be myself! Contrary to popular belief, you don’t need to have dance                           experience, rhythm, or extreme coordination to enjoy Zumba!


  1. What is your favourite childhood memory?


I have so many favourite childhood memories! Some notable ones are annual camping trips with my family and performing abroad with the Cindy Yang Dance Academy.


  1. What is your biggest struggle with life or work?


Struggles are a part of life! I have 2 young children and sometimes I lose my patience with them, but at the same time, they teach me so much!


  1. 4. What is your favourite hidden gem in Kelowna?


Ume Sushi! We go there at least once a week. Amazing sushi and friendly staff.


  1. What is your favourite physical activity?


No surprise here, dancing!! Skiing is not far behind.


  1. Where or how would you like to see positive change in Kelowna?


I would love to see the city of Kelowna implement a curbside pickup food/kitchen waste program. My family and I got used to this system in Vancouver, and the reduction in garbage was astonishing.


  1. What is something about you that not many people know about?


I am of Chinese and German decent. My mom is from Taiwan and I’ve been fortunate enough to travel there and meet all of my relatives. I haven’t been to Germany yet, but I definitely want to in the future!


  1. If you could start over is there something that you would change about your life?


I wouldn’t change a thing! Everything in my life has led me to where I am today.


  1. What is your favourite local store and why?


Don-O-Ray vegetables! They have a great selection of fresh, locally grown produce and the staff are always so friendly. Plus, my kids love feeding the chickens, ponies, and goats!